The driest freeze grabbed my

Unseeing eyes as every moment

drove my soul to insanity.

 

The grip, taut and hard on

my wrists tore every muscle

I knew held my heart together.

 

The sweetness, the bitterness-

they reached towards each other

mellow, shallow and unattempted.

 

The addiction of the blood

pouring and the pain soaring

through my veins heightened,

 

Shreds of the shirts we had on our

backs lay at our feet, unforgiven

souls for misunderstood hatred.

 

We tore, froze, killed and died.

Forgot, erased and decided to

pretend that our hearts never

knew that place.

 

Believe, they said. In love, in the possibility

for the future and the past to merge.

I did, for a while, and burnt.

 

Leave a Reply

